23.2 C
Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Why Osinbajo replaced Dikko, appointed Dougherty; full list of Industrial policy group

Must read

The Federal Government has released the full list of members of the Nigerian Industrial Policy and Competitiveness Advisory Counci to debunk growing criticisms of Acting President Yemi Osinbajo as favouring a section of the country and his local church, the Redeemed Christian Church of God.
Insisting that the leadership shows federal character and spread, a source released the list as follows:
1. His Excellency, the Acting President and Chairman of the Economic Team, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo (Chairman)
2. Hon. Minister, Industry Trade and Investment, Dr. Okechukwu Enelamah (Vice-Chairman, Public Sector)
3. Hon. Minister of State, Industry, Trade and Investment, Mrs. Aisha Abubakar (Alternate Vice-Chairman, Public Sector)
4. President, Dangote Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote (Vice-Chairman, Private Sector)
Chairman, ANAP Business Jets Ltd, Mr. Atedo Peterside (Alternate Vice-Chairman, Private Sector)
1.    Chairman, Nigerian Breweries and PZ Cussons Chief Kola Jamodu
2.   Chairman, BUA Group Alhaji Abdulsamad Rabiu
3.   Chairman, IVM Innoson Group of Companies Limited, Dr. Innocent Ifediaso Chukwuma
4.   GMD, Chi Foods Nigeria, Mr. Rahul Savara
5.   Chairman, Flour Mills of Nigeria Plc, Mr. John Coumantarous
6.   CEO, Emzor Pharmaceuticals Mrs. Stella Okoli
7.   Country Head, Olam Mr. Mukul Mathur
8. President/CEO Beloxxi Industries Limited, Mr. Obi Ezeude
9.    MD/CEO Fidson Healthcare Plc, Dr. Fidelis Ayebea
10. Founder, Flutterwave, Mr. Iyinoluwa Aboyeji
11. President & CEO, GE Business Operations Nigeria, Mr. Lazarus  Angbazo
12. CEO, Jumia, Mrs. Juliet Anamah
13. CEO, SecureID Nigeria Ltd, Mrs. Kofo Akinkugbe
14. Chairman/C.E.O, AMMASCO International Limited, Alhaji Ado      Mustapha
15. Chairman, KAM Industries, Alhaji Kamaldeen Yusuf
16. Chairman, United Textiles Plc, Alhaji Adamu Atta
17. Chairman Candel Corporation; CEO Swift Networks, Mr. Charles  Anudu
18. Chairman, Rumbu Sacks Nigeria Limited, Alhaji Ibrahim Salisu Buhari
19. Chairman, Tofa Group, Mr. Isiaku Tofa
20. MD/CEO Proforce Limited, Mr. Ade Ogundeyin
21. President, Manufacturers Association of Nigeria, Dr. Frank Udemba Jacobs
1.   Hon. Minister for Budget & National Planning, Senator Udoma Udo Udoma
2.    Hon. Minister of Finance, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun
3.   Hon. Minister for Agriculture and Rural Development, Chief Audu Ogbeh
4.   Hon. Minister for Power, Works & Housing, Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola
5.   Hon. Minister for Transportation, Chief Rotimi Amaechi
6.   Hon. Minister of State, Petroleum Resources, Dr. Ibe Kachikwu
7.   Hon. Minister for Mines and Steel Development, Dr. Kayode Fayemi
8.   Hon. Minister for Science & Technology, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu
9.   Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria, Mr. Godwin Emefiele
1.   Economic Adviser to the President, Dr. Yemi Dipeolu
2.   Trade Adviser/Chief Negotiator, Amb. Chiedu Osakwe
3.   MD, Bank of Industry, Mr. Kayode Pitan
4.   Exec. Director/CEO, Nigerian Export Promotion Council, Mr. Olusegun Awolowo (appointed to office in 2013)
5.   Executive Secretary, Nigeria Investment Promotion Commission, Ms. Yewande Sadiku
6.   Statistician-General, National Bureau of Statistics, Dr. Yemi Kale (appointed to office in 2011)
7.   CEO, Economic Associates Dr. Ayo Teriba
On the replacement of the former Director-General of the Pension Commission (PenCom) with someone from another geo-political zone, the source said, “There has been much talk about failure of government to replace the former Pencom Director General with someone from the same zone as hers. It is argued that this ran contrary to Section 21(2) of the Pension Reform Act 2014. However, that section only applies “in the event of a vacancy”. Indeed, in that case, the President shall appoint a replacement from the same geo-political zone of the immediate past member who vacated the office to complete the remaining tenure.
“This is to ensure that no geo-political zone loses out in the event of a removal and replacement of one particular member, when others from other zones remain in office. However, where as in this case, the entire Board is dissolved and reconstituted, the question is not about replacement of any particular person from any particular geo-political zone. Rather, it is to ensure that in the newly reconstituted Board, every one of the six political zones is represented. The new appointees, covering all zones, are as follows:
Ali Usman Ahmed (North East)- Chairman
Funso Doherty (South West) -Director General
Manasseh Terna Denga (North Central) -Commissioner
Abubakar Zaki Magawata (North West) – Commissioner
Ben Oviosu (South South) -Commissioner
Nyerere Ayim (South East) -Commissioner.
He stated furher: “Unfortunately another controversy arose, following the slight alteration in the list earlier announced. The nominees have not taken office, so thankfully, it is not a matter of vacancy this time.
“But why this alteration anyway?
“Unfortunately, the earlier announced appointment of Abdulrahman Dikko was found to be in error, as it ran contrary to Section 19 (5) of PRA 2014 which says that “the chairman and members of the PenCom Board shall not own controlling shares in any of the pension funds administrator or pension funds custodian prior to or during their tenure of office as chairman or members of the board”.
“It is not disputed that Dikko is currently a majority shareholder at Premium Pension Limited, one of the most prominent pension funds administrators in Nigeria today, hence the need to immediately rectify the error by moving him to a position for which he is clearly qualified.
“Dikko is now the appointed Chairman of the Bank of Industry Board.”

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles